[Reading about Japan at I-House Library]
I-House members and others read The Dreaming of the Bones by W. B. Yeats, featuring the Noh play Nishikigi, in a session arranged by Ogoura Kazuo

  • *This program has finished.
  • Date: Tuesday, October 25, 2016, 7:00 pm
  • Venue: Kabayama-Matsumoto Room, International House of Japan
  • Moderator: Ogoura Kazuo (Professor, Aoyama Gakuin University / Senior Advisor, Japan Foundation)
  • Commentator: Matsumura Ken’ichi (Professor Emeritus, Chuo University)
  • Noh Actor:
    Terai Sakae (Shite kata, Kanze School of Noh)
    Terai Chikage (Shite kata, Kanze School of Noh)
    Terai Miki (Shite kata, Kanze School of Noh)
  • Actor:
    Timothy Harris (Actor / Lecturer, Open University of Japan)
    Darren Craig (Teacher, Japan College of Foreign Languages / Former Daiwa Anglo Japanese Foundation Scholar)
    Tania Coke (Actress / Theatrical Art Director)
    Michael Rhys (Voice Actor)
  • Language: English (Noh performance in Japanese)
  • Admission:
    [Reservation] IHJ members & Library members: 1,000 yen, Non-members: 2,500 yen
    [At door] IHJ Members & Library Members, Non-members: 3,000 yen
  • *This program will be held thanks to a contribution from an I-House member.
Flyer: Front Flyer: Back
Front Back
W. B. Yeats is one of the most prominent Irish poets and playwrights of the modern era, winning the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1923.
In this session, actors will perform a reading of The Dreaming of the Bones, which is said to be strongly influenced by Japanese Noh, and a Noh actress will perform part of the Noh play Nishikigi. After the reading session, please enjoy conversation with the experts and artists at the reception.

Ogoura Kazuo

Born in 1938. After joining the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, he headed the Cultural Exchange Department and the Economic Affairs Bureau. He later served as ambassador to Vietnam, South Korea and France and was the president of the Japan Foundation from 2003 through 2011.
At present, he is the president of The Nippon Foundation’s Paralympic Support Center. I-House Member since 1989.